62@62 week 1

 

pdrw004

62@62 Week 1 is over and I am feeling really positive, long may it last.

So what has happened. Firstly despite storm Aileen doing her worst a couple of times and absolutely drenched me, I ran a weeks total of 46 miles. Not a huge amount you would say. And you would be right but these first few weeks are going to be about running my 7.6 mile course everyday of the week, really just to get used to going out everyday again and when I am feeling tired or sore.

 I also got interviewed this week by The Swindon Advertiser. They are going to publish an article about me as they think it is quite unusual for somebody of my age to take on the challenge that I am. I thought it would only last 20 minutes or so but we chatted for and hour and a half. Having photos taken on Tuesday so it will be really interesting to see what it ends up like. For me I know there are lots of people out there like me running Ultra’s but if I can get some PR and some sponsors out of it then I will be well pleased.

 The other thing this week is I did a bit of shopping (which I don’t like doing) and bought myself a wok and a load of Tupperware so I was quite pleased with myself. I have given up eating processed food but still need to either teach myself how to prepare proper nutrition/food or get somebody to teach me. It is not a problem at the moment of course as there is still plenty of time to go but I want to be prepared for when I am running 70 – 100 miles a week.

 Which reminds me I still need to carry out much more research on a training plan. Should I be doing heavy mileage which is the way I have always trained or should I have a much more structured training plan. Should I be running on heart rate zones or on feel? Makes a big difference, not least on should I buy a new gps watch with heart rate monitor. Again if anybody out there can offer me advice I would really appreciate it.

 Well that was week 1 and I am now off to get my kit and shoes washed and dried ready for week 2.

 Thanks for reading.

 Pete

 

One thought on “62@62 week 1

Leave a Reply

