62@62 Week 2

DSCN1436

62@62 Week 2

So week 2 of my training for the Race To The Stones has come and gone. I increased my mileage from last week and apart from the Saturday I have felt ok all week. 54 miles this week, some of it slow (just under or just over 10 mpm) so nothing strenuous at all. Except for Saturday. It was not an easy run and felt quite tired. After the run I was just exhausted. Sat on a chair on the patio in the sun when I got home and fell asleep. Absolutely no energy at all. So I put some clothes on and walked up to the Co Op and bought two bottles of sport drink a packet of jelly babies and a pack of 5 mini jam donuts and ate the lot sat on the bench outside the shop. It was like having an injection. Within minutes I felt better and had the energy to walk home again. So what have I learnt from that little mistake. I have cut out all processed food from my diet and trying to eat ‘healthy’ food. I think the problem is not that I am not eating lots of sugary rubbish but I am not eating enough (quantity) of healthy food. So I fell off the wagon yesterday but not going to worry about it. I learnt a lesson and that is the positive thing that came out of it.

What else has happened. On Tuesday I met Tom the photographer from the Swindon Advertiser (who I know quite well anyway from all the photography I have done for them). It was fun as I had already done my run for the day so could just enjoy it. Especially as it was a really sunny afternoon. Lots of photographs taken, lots of curious looks from people walking past. Hopefully the article will be in the paper this week.

After lots and lots of research I have decided not to update my Garmin GPS watch just yet. The only real advantage I could see was having a HR monitor and to be honest at the moment at least I am running on feel not HR zones (do ultra runners run on hr zones)?? The watch I have got gives me time, distance and pace so don’t really need to spend the money just yet.
Also I think I am going to go for calf guards rather than compression socks. The only reason is that my big toe goes through my socks and shoes really quickly and I don’t want to be spending lots of money (they are certainly not cheap) on lots and lots of socks and end up with lots of right leg socks and no left leg socks !!!!!! I have got a draw full of right foot socks 😦

Lastly, for the first time in about 10 years I am going to loose a toe nail. Now in the good old days in the 70’s it was par for the course to regularly loose them. I am pleased to say with the technology and design of running shoes these days it very very rarely happens. So I was a bit disappointed when I noticed that one of my toes was blistered and the nail was black. Hey Ho only a minor issue so I am not going to worry about it.

So a good second weeks training and looking forward to week 3.

If I haven’t bored you and you have got all the way to the end of this post, then thank you for reading it.

Thanks again.
Pete

Leave a Reply

