Food

So, you would think I would know better. I think I have finally cleared myself out of the after effects of eating xmas and new year food. I try to eat healthy and very rarely eat meat. I like to think I am vegetarian for health reasons rather than moral and so if I am presented with meat I will eat it. Generally eating a bit of meat once in a few months doesn’t do any harm. However over the xmas and new year period I have eaten so many mince pies, biscuits, chocolates and so on I have felt as rough as hell and several times on my runs I have had to make unscheduled stops over hedges or at garden centres. It has also made me put on several pounds in weight which I really feel when I am out running, so basically the last couple of weeks have been a bit of a nightmare. This morning I ran the Exmouth Parkrun in a time of 25.40 which was quicker than I wanted to do but it felt quite easy, including getting into a piss off contest with another runner who kept cutting me up and was wearing headphones to boot which I totally disagree with wearing whilst running. So the old racing Pete came into play and I forced him to run at my pace and trapped him behind other runners etc and then just left him standing and he trailed in at least a couple of minutes after me. I really don’t mind people beating me but I do mind people who have no running etiquette. Anyway point I was going to make is that I felt so much better this morning after a couple of days of eating healthy again plus taking Ibuprofen again twice a day everyday, which I got out of the habit of doing. Hopefully I will feel a bit more comfortable running again which also means longer runs and more mileage.

Also this week I finished reading Don McCullin’s autobiography. I bought it about 30 years ago and read it then and decided to read it again. Those of you who know me that I love photography (I was a photojournalist for a few years) and Don McCullin is one of my heroes. An awesome book and read but I had forgotten just what a tortured man he was/is. Which is hardly surprising after the life he led for 20 odd years on the frontline of wars around the world. I like both his war photographs and his peace photographs. Like me he is self taught and learnt the hard way.

So, that’s me for today, I am now off to make a nice healthy lunch 🙂

Pete

Leave a comment